Stretchy Soul

Over the course of the years, I have come to view the hardships life deals us all as something that stretches our soul, this way and that, making it bigger, more flexible and also stronger.

I feel that I am more ready to give, more open-minded, more centered now than I was 10 years ago. One could argue of course that that is just the process of maturing, but I don’t think that’s all. I feel that every time I was dealing with something hard, particularly when it felt as if I couldn’t go any further, my inner energy would stretch to manage. The stretching can be painful, and exhausting, as a body stretch sometimes is, but in the end, I ended up being able to cope with the situation, and being able to cope with other hard situations better afterwards.

In my experience this can also sometimes go completely wrong. I have been lucky enough to only encounter hardships that have been in my reach of mastering, and they came in the right order. I don’t know where I would be if they had come in the opposite order. For Mr Ex for instance, it didn’t go so well. He was confronted with sudden health problems – something that didn’t cause his inner energy to stretch, it caused it to tear because of the suddenness of it all. It ended in anxiety and even more severe problems.

One thing I remind myself of when faced with something that seems too big to manage is that my inner energy, or soul, is capable of stretching. It has been big and flexible enough to deal with so many things, and every time it grew stronger. So, there is no need to be afraid of the next step, even if it is big and new.

This calms me and reminds me that I will be ok – which magically ensures that I will be ok. I rely on my soul to stretch in whichever direction I need it to stretch – but I also try to give it enough time and to be patient with the change, so as not to tear.

This sounds very egocentric and self-important – but in actual fact, this also reflects on the people around be. Somehow, I am often able to share a bit of that stretchiness whenever they find themselves in trouble, especially if it’s something I have already experienced. I am able to calm people, catch them if you like, and to give them a sense of centered trust.

Thank you,  soul. Thank you for being ready to stretch whenever life makes it necessary.

Leave a Reply

